top of page

2023  2022  2021  2020  2019  2018  2017  W2016  2016  2015  2014  2013  2012  2011  2010  2009  2008  2007  2006  2005  2004  2003  2002  2001  2000  1999  1998

Winning Entries

This page will next update September 30th. 
Please press the "refresh" or "reload" button on your browser to view up-to-date information.

For more information on our contests and winner selection please click here and also click here.

Flash Contest Winners

"Empowered" 2023 National Student Poetry Contest
(Original Submission Deadline of April 30, 2023) - Winners Announced September 30, 2023.

Click here to read the poems by the Division Winners (1st, 2nd, and 3rd place)

Division I

(grades 3-5)​


Division Winner – Graylin Khalsa-Bryant

2nd Place – Cora Seed

3rd Place – Siena Chen


Division II

(grades 6-7)​


Division Winner – Rylee McKinney

2nd Place – Wellspring Thomas

3rd Place –​ Erika Powell


Division III

(grades 8-9)​


Division Winner – Kaylan Gagnon

2nd Place – Rory Neilson

3rd Place – Ava Meisel


Division IV

(grades 10-12)


Division Winner – Carson Kramer

2nd Place – Madeline Lacotts

3rd Place – Liana Giannuzzi

Editor's Choice Award and Grand Prize Winner

Carson Kramer for poem entitled "Mother"

"School's Out Shopping Spree" Winner

Kendall Cathcart for poem entitled "Big Dream”

Laptop Computer, Tablet, or Wireless Headphones Winner

Dominic Ankeney for poem entitled "When the Heartbreak Hurts"

Amazon Gift Card Winners

Caleb Dietz (Entry entitled "Hope Is Like a Flower")

Brooke Dimaggio (Entry entitled "Eyes")

Breh Rowland (Entry entitled "Spring Is Coming")

Jadyn Gervais (Entry entitled "Living Through the Boston Bombing")

Raegan Sherko (Entry entitled "Please, Oh Please!")

Melody Dombrowski (Entry entitled "Realm of Magic")

Alfred Fizzuoglio (Entry entitled "These Feathered Things Called Wings")

Alex Lukowski (Entry entitled "Leaves")

Sofie Burns (Entry entitled "Nature's Beauty")

Xavier Flores (Entry entitled "B-Ball")

Top Educator Award Winners

Rachael Kennedy of Kane Area High School in Kane, PA

Jamie Taylor of Utica High School in Utica, OH

Charles Williams of Gadsden Elementary School in Quincy, FL

Stacey Sager of Stevensville High School in Stevensville, MT

Margaretanne Morgan of Weis Middle School in Galveston, TX

Judy Kadri of New Horizon School Westside in Los Angeles, CA

Caitlin Fincher of Hayti High School in Hayti, MO

Frederick Madrid of Riverwoods Montessori School in Riverwoods, IL

Bobbi Rookstool of Herington High School in Herington, KS

Bonnie Halbert of Palestine Wheatley Senior High School in Palestine, AR

"Early Bird" Prize Winners

Amanda Daxon of Schaeffer Academy in Rochester, MN

Ann Buckner of Sterling Public School in Sterling, NE

Lisa Medina of Fairmont Catholic School in Fairmont, WV

Susanna Torres of Saint Rose of Lima in Warwick, RI

Justin Trombly of Detroit Waldorf School in Dearborn, MI

Tracy Gutkowski of St. Albert the Great At Assumption Academy in Broadview Heights, OH

Sheneka Hernandez of Holloway High School in Murfreesboro, TN

Danielle Faraci of Palm Desert Charter Middle School in Palm Desert, CA

Lance Floyd of West Columbus High School in Cerro Gordo, NC

Angela Chamberlain of Praise Christian Academy in North Versailles, PA

Gary Pearman of Talton K. Stone Middle School in Elizabethtown, KY

Erica Crane of Turkey Run Elementary School in Marshall, IN

Jill Vining of Metter Elementary School in Metter, GA

Jennifer Eubank of Sand Point School in Sand Point, AK

Manvela Washington of Germantown High School in Madison, MS

Kristen Smith of Battery Creek High School in Beaufort, SC

Lisa Kawecki of St. Ann School in West Palm Beach, FL

Cassey Tignanelli of Oklahoma Union School in South Coffeyville, OK

Sean Parmalee of Urban Choice Charter School in Rochester, NY

Marie Stallard of Rosa Parks School of Fine and Performing Arts in Paterson, NJ

Jennifer Hecht of Montello High School in Montello, WI

Janet Pollard of Bishop LeBlond High School in Saint Joseph, MO

Erin McLaughlin of Bedford Middle School in Bedford, IA

Jessica Juarez of Robstown Early College High School in Robstown, TX

Amanda Beikmann of Clifton Clyde Middle School in Clifton, KS

2023 Spirit of Education Award Winners

Peñasco Elementary School of Hope, NV

Somerset College Preparatory Academy of Port Saint Lucie, FL

bottom of page