top of page

2023  2022  2021  2020  2019  2018  2017  W2016  2016  2015  2014  2013  2012  2011  2010  2009  2008  2007  2006  2005  2004  2003  2002  2001  2000  1999  1998

Winning Entries

This page will next update September 30th. 
Please press the "refresh" or "reload" button on your browser to view up-to-date information.

For more information on our contests and winner selection please click here and also click here.

Flash Contest Winners

"Expressions" 2021 National Student Poetry Contest
(Original Submission Deadline of April 30, 2021) - Winners Announced September 30, 2021.

Click here to read the poems by the Division Winners (1st, 2nd, and 3rd place)

Division I

(grades 3-5)​


Division Winner – Olivia Hong

2nd Place – Lexi Ferguson

3rd Place – Lillian Atkinson


Division II

(grades 6-7)​


Division Winner – Camille Ahart

2nd Place – Charlotte German

3rd Place –​ Gabriel Starr


Division III

(grades 8-9)​


Division Winner – Kirschten Methvin

2nd Place – Adelyn Newton

3rd Place – Daniel Romsa


Division IV

(grades 10-12)


Division Winner – Maya Klein

2nd Place – Gia Larson

3rd Place – Sondra Scoggin

Editor's Choice Award and Grand Prize Winner

Maya Klein for poem entitled "Growing Up"

"School's Out Shopping Spree" Winner

Noella Nahimana (Entry entitled "Angry Storms")

Laptop Computer, Tablet, or iPod Touch Winner

Lorenzo Larsen (Entry entitled "Rain of Sorrow")

Amazon Gift Card Winners

Kohen Pulfer (Entry entitled "Society")

Dylan Neuer (Entry entitled "Spring")

Jenna Denton (Entry entitled "Big Brother")

Cassidy Gibson (Entry entitled "Outdoor Adventure")

Julie Lee (Entry entitled "Grandpa's Flowers")

Wright Ingram (Entry entitled "A Drinking Ghost")

Lily Payne (Entry entitled "The Season")

Linnea Lay (Entry entitled "Our Brown World")

Damon LaBorde (Entry entitled "My Lazy Cat!")

Vivian Verner (Entry entitled "Seasons")

Top Educator Award Winners

Nicole Willey of Milbridge Elementary School in Milbridge, ME

Kyle Sessions of Cisne High School in Cisne, IL

Sharon Parker of Mount Dora Middle School in Mount Dora, FL

Rachel Huang of Ability School in Englewood, NJ

Vicky Lopez of Vieja Valley School in Santa Barbara, CA

Libby Nichols of Bradford Central School in Bradford, NY

Charity Reeves of Nebraska City Middle School in Nebraska City, NE

Amber Buchanan of Howard Elementary School in Howard, PA

Scott Felluss of North Valley Academy Gooding, ID

Cynthia Boultinghouse of Uvlade Classical School in Uvalde, TX

"Early Bird" Prize Winners

Manuel Ross of Victory Christian School in Sylva, NC

Kathryn Lockwood of Saint Jerome School in West Long Branch, NJ

Tiffany Duskey of Lowell Elementary School in Lowell, OH

Arlene Jimenez of Grand Oaks Elementary School in Shasta Lake, CA

Madison Jenkins of North Star School in Rudyard, MT

Melissa Andrews of Bishop Hendricken High School in Warwick, RI

Hannah Bartl of Snook Christian School in Foley, AL

Becky Winters of Alcorn Central Elementary School in Glen, MS

Toni Welker of Holy Child Catholic School in Arnold, MO

Amanda Parker of St. Michael the Archangel Catholic School in Livonia, MI

Ariel Vardy of Glen Oaks Middle School in Baton Rouge, LA

Amber Miller of Birchwood Public Montessori School in Birchwood, WI

Wendy Cooper of Alden Elementary School in Alden, IA

Kerry Bradway of Oregon-Davis Junior Senior High School in Hamlet, IN

Kristin Abernethy of Holmess Middle School in Colorado Springs, CO

Denise Clark of Montoursville Area High School in Montoursville, PA

Kenny Reed of UBIC Academy in Daytona Beach, FL

Hunter Kreuter of Maple Grove Elementary School in Metropolis, IL

Cheryl Houser of Swanson Elementary School in Omaha, NE

Samantha Lyons of Veritas Academy in Tucson, AZ

Brigette Schroeder of Angelo Catholic School in San Angelo, TX

Ann Bugg of Pocola High School in Pocola, OK

Jamie VanLeuven of North Star Academy in Riverton, UT

Melanie Hendrickson of Olson Elementary School in Bloomington, MN

Kim Mathieson of Onondaga Central-Wheeler School in Nedrow, NY

2021 Spirit of Education Award Winners

Tritt Elementary School of Marietta, GA

American Indian Christian Mission School of Show Low, AZ

bottom of page